My Books!

I thought you might like to see all my books in one place, along with a blurb. If you want one, just click on the picture and that will take you to Amazon. If you want a signed print copy, click here and request the book you desire. Signed print copies are $15, with $4 for shipping.

Beyond the Cabin

First, is my novelization of my childhood in a Scientology splinter cult. Good for a solid ugly cry, this is a clean, uplifting, but at times very serious coming of age story. Appropriate for kids from eleven years up.

Born into a controlling, abusive cult and betrayed by those he trusted, Josh hungers for freedom from the Fundamental Faith in God. After his first escape attempt fails, Josh takes even more solace in a rustic cabin he and his oldest brother made, finding peace in isolation. After unspeakable tragedy strikes, Josh flounders for hope and anything that will soften the grief threatening to destroy him. Determined to escape the cult that offers only heartbreak and loneliness, he’s stunned by an unexpected connection with one of the other kids in the cult orphanage. That doesn’t stop him and he continues to prepare for a final escape. But when the other kids in the cult need him to protect them and be part of their family, is Josh betraying them by trying to get away?

The Seer

This is my entry in a fun, fast-paced, multi-author series called The Thirty Six. Other authors are Daron Fraley and Gregg Luke.

On a dig in an Egyptian tomb, graduate intern Nathan Eckhoff finds the ancient cloak of Joseph, the dream interpreter who became the Grand Vizier of all Egypt. Yes, that Joseph, the one sold by his brothers to slavers, who rose from grim servitude to the most trusted position in the Pharaoh’s kingdom.Upon donning the ancient, extraordinary cloak, visions and perceptions assault Nathan- insights into the hearts of the people around him. At the same time, a mysterious being of strange power enters Nathan’s life with words and warnings that terrify Nathan.Now Nathan must decide, is he the fulfillment of the prophecy of the Lamed Vovniks, also known as the Thirty-Six righteous people upon whom the fate of the world rests? Or is he just a young man who has to stop a murderer corrupted by a cursed relic of ancient power?Nathan had better find the answers soon, before the assassin on his heels catches him, or a cursed madman kills thousands of innocents. But will he be fast enough to rescue the love of his life?

The Beat Series

This is a complete, two-book science fiction adventure series. Appropriately dubbed by D.J. Butler “The apocalypse of fitbits,” it’s a swashbuckling adventure combing Goonies, Hunger Games (without kids killing kids), The Maze Runner, and Blade Runner.

Book 1: Beat

A hundred years ago the Bug wiped out over ninety percent of humanity and even now it kills anyone whose heart rate goes over 140 beats per minute. That’s why the Prime Administrator gave everyone the Papas – digital wrist monitors that put people to sleep when their heart rate gets too high. The Papas saved humankind. But one night on the border of New Frisko, when fifteen-year-old Nik Granjer tampers with his Papa and discovers there is more to the Bug than he thought, a brutal enforcement squad from the city suddenly forces Nik into hiding. On the run and searching for allies, Nik’s only hope is to escape with his life and discover the truth about the Prime Administrator’s regime and the origins of the Bug.

Book 2: Push

The stunning sequel to Beat.

Two months after the attack on New Frisko, Nik Granger and the other survivors believe themselves hidden from the tyrannical rule of Prime Administrator Adam Holland. Until one day when Nik returns to camp to discover they weren’t safe at all. Holland and his Enforsers have killed or captured most of the survivors—including Nik’s parents.
Nik and a few friends barely escape with their lives and must race to stop Holland before he murders the rest of their friends and family. As they travel through what’s left of America, Nik, Pol and Melisa face danger at every turn, including Ranjers who will stop at nothing to carry out Holland’s sadistic orders. With the world against them, can they make it in time to save what’s left of humanity? And when it comes to it, will Nik have what it takes to destroy Holland once and for all?

The Guide and the Sword Series

This is a trilogy that has book one out so far, with the 2nd book upcoming in early 2018. The 3rd will be out by the end of 2018. Some people call this series Book of Mormon fan fiction! Inspired by Last of the Mohicans, the animated TV show Avatar: The Last Airbender, and Mayan and Aztec lore, it’s non-stop fun. And yes, if you’ve read the Book of Mormon, there’s going to be some resonance.

Book 1: Lakhoni

Lakhoni has been left for dead. When the King’s guards attack his village and slaughter his people, he regains consciousness only to find his sister has been taken captive. Armed with only a bow, Lakhoni must traverse a brutal wilderness, face deadly warriors, and battle legendary tattooed assassins, all in order to save his sister’s life. But along the way, he discovers his parents were not the simple villagers they seemed. Instead, they were hiding a great secret that goes back to the First Fathers. Lakhoni sets out to avenge his parents, but he isn’t the only one who wants the king dead. Ancient enemies are poised to strike while traitors poison the kingdom from within. The life of the king and the fate of the kingdom hang in the balance.

Book 2: Usurper

Cover and blurb to come!

Book 3: Guardian

Cover and blurb to come!